RAISE YOUR GLASS: Congratulations to the Adroit Class of 2019!

Every year, we at The Adroit Journal support a brilliant class of high school seniors who apply and make the transition from high school writers into college writers. We’re honored to share the matriculation list of this year’s class of senior mentorship students and staff readers!

This year, Columbia University leads the pack, claiming eight Adroit seniors for its incoming freshman class. Stanford UniversityUniversity of Pennsylvania, and Yale University follow, with four Adroit seniors packing for each.

We wish each of the below thirty-eight students the best as they embark on their next chapters, and hope they’ll stay in touch! (We have a feeling they will.)

Staff Members

Brianne Allen (NY — Prose Reader), Emerson College

Crystal Sung (CA — Prose Reader), Georgetown University

Ben Togut (NY — Poetry Reader), Wesleyan University

Katherine Xiong (NJ — Prose Reader), Brown University

Staff Members & Mentorship Program Alums

Daniel Blokh (AL — Previous Poetry Reader & Mentee ’16), Yale University

Emily Tian (MD — Poetry Reader & Mentee ’17), Yale University

Mentorship Program Alums

Isabella Alvarez (NH — ’17), Syracuse University

Darius Atefat-Peckham (WV — ’18), Harvard University

Bronwen Brenner (NY — ’17), Sarah Lawrence College

Anna Butcher (AL — ’17), Southern Methodist University

Adriana Carter (SC — ’18), Stanford University

Katie Chen (Canada — ’17), Brown University

Sandra Chen (CA — ’18), Princeton University

Haley Chung (Canada — ’18), Columbia University

Ana Maria Cornejo Silva (CO — ’18), Stanford University

Olivia Dupuy (CA — ’18), University of Pennsylvania

Quinn Filler (SC — ’18), Brandeis University

Dominy Gallo (NY — ’18), Columbia University

Victoria Gong (MS — ’18), Harvard University

Evan Hochstein (TX — ’18), Yale University

Olivia Hu (Canada — ’18), Columbia University

Bessie Huang (MD — ’18), University of Pennsylvania

Nadia Jo (MA — ’17), Stanford University

Eunice Lee (CA — ’17), Columbia University

Jocelyn Leunenberger (MA — ’18), Stanford University

Qingying (Susan) Li (MA — ’18), Columbia University

Serena Lin (NJ — ’17), Yale University

Vivian Lu (NJ — ’17), Columbia University

Megan Lunny (PA — ’18), Columbia University

Grace Lytle (TX — ’18), University of Houston

Harper Oreck (CA — ’18), Harvard University

Anika Prakash (NJ — ’16), University of Pennsylvania

Emily Schultz (IL — ’17), Loyola University Chicago

Vidhima Shetty (CA — ’17), Columbia University

Derek Song (TX — ’18), Berklee College of Music

Greta Timmins (NC — ’18), University of Virginia

Nikki Velletri (RI — ’18), University of Pennsylvania


Peter LaBerge

Peter LaBerge founded The Adroit Journal in 2010, as a high school sophomore. His work appears in Crazyhorse, Harvard Review, Indiana Review, Iowa Review, Kenyon Review Online, Pleiades, and Tin House, among others. He is the recipient of a 2020 Pushcart Prize.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply