Announcing the 2019 Adroit Journal Summer Mentorship Program Cohort

The team behind The Adroit Journal’s free, online summer mentorship program for high school writers is thrilled to announce the 2019 cohort. We’re thrilled to extend admission to 56 budding high school poets, fiction writers, and nonfiction writers from approximately 650 applications.

This year, we had the privilege of receiving applications from students residing in Australia, Belgium, Canada, China, Denmark, the Dominican Republic, Egypt, Hong Kong, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, the Netherlands, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, the Philippines, Saint Lucia, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, the United Arab Emirates, and the United Kingdom. We also received applications from 42 American states, as well as from Puerto Rico.

We received applications for the 2019 program from 95 graduating seniors, 290 rising seniors, 187 rising juniors, and 71 rising sophomores. As with every year, current middle school students and current undergraduate students were not eligible for application to the program.

Our 2019 cohort of talented high school writers will have the opportunity to immerse themselves in the art and craft of poetry, fiction, or nonfiction. Each writer has been paired 1:1 with an established writer out in the world reading and writing today.

Congratulations to our 2019 mentorship cohort: Claire Ahn, Aidan Aragon, Lukas Bacho, Kelsie Bennett, Maya Berardi, Elliot Bradley, Sage Braziel, Emory Brinson, Aluna Brogdon, Adina Cazacu-De Luca, Ana Chen, Daniel Chen, Sarah Chen, Isabella Cho, Audrey Chong, Annika Clark, Alex Clifford, Leo Cox, Jude Ehmka, Kendra Gilbert, Hannah Han, Catherine Ji, Lara Katz, Yasmeen Khan, Felix Killingsworth, Sarah Lao, Sylvan Lebrun, Jeffrey Liao, Emily Liu, Cynthia Lu, Katie Lu, Kaja Lucas, Tasneem Maher, Duy Quang Mai, Frances McKittrick, Uma Menon, Ernest O. Ogunyemi, Fiyinfoluwa Oladipo, Ottavia Paluch, Annamiciah Pendarvis, Meena Rakasi, Abby Richards, Mya Rigoli, Grace Song, Tuesday Sweeney, Yvanna Vien Tica, Patrick Tong, Ari Vishin, Jieyan Wang, Lydia Wei, Hana Widerman, Cindy Xin, Krystal Yang, Ann Zhang, Sophia Zhao, and Cynthia Zhou.

You can click here for the official mentorship student roster, complete with genre and mentorship pairings.

Since 2013, the mentorship has enabled hundreds of students from around the world to connect with the global literary network, as well as to connect with each other. “As a teen writer at a high school that didn’t offer creative writing, the mentorship was an exercise in different ways of thinking. I developed my craft in ways that, if left to my own devices, I would’ve never thought to try,” writes poet Talin Tahajian.

talin tahajian

For more information on the summer mentorship, and to sign up for updates on application for the 2020 program, you can click here.

Peter LaBerge

Peter LaBerge founded The Adroit Journal in 2010, as a high school sophomore. His work appears in Crazyhorse, Harvard Review, Indiana Review, Iowa Review, Kenyon Review Online, Pleiades, and Tin House, among others. He is the recipient of a 2020 Pushcart Prize.