The Adroit Journal’s AWP 2018 Offsite Reading with 32 Poems, AGNI, Denver Quarterly, & Quarterly West

We were oh-so thrilled to co-host our first-ever AWP event at Tampa’s very own Jackson’s Bistro on Thursday, March 8th. Below, you can access a livestream of the event, complete with information about the readers and a timeline of their readings.

You can view the details of the event here. We’d like to offer massive thanks to our event co-organizers, editors from AGNIDenver Quarterly, 32 Poems, and Quarterly West. Hope you enjoy the livestream!

Access the Livestream

Name *

A Timeline of the Evening

Learn more about each of our readers below!

23:59 – Opening Remarks by George David Clark

George David Clark serves as the editor-in-chief and executive director of 32 Poems.

27:22 – Wayne Miller (Poetry)

Wayne Miller’s fourth poetry collection, Post- (Milkweed, 2016), won the Rilke Prize and the Colorado Book Award. Wayne teaches at the University of Colorado Denver and edits Copper Nickel.

30:49 – Paige Lewis (Poetry)

Paige Lewis is the author of the chapbook Reasons to Wake You (Tupelo Press, 2018). Their poems have appeared in PoetryAmerican Poetry Review, Ploughshares, The Georgia Review, Best New Poets 2017, and elsewhere.

34:28 – Paisley Rekdal (Poetry)

Paisley Rekdal is the author, most recently, of Imaginary Vessels, and is Utah’s Poet Laureate.

38:43 – Ye Chun (Fiction)

Ye Chun is the author of two books of poetry, a novel in Chinese, and a collection of translations. A recipient of the NEA fellowship and two Pushcart Prizes, she teaches at Providence College.

48:22 – Brandon Thurman (Poetry)

Brandon Thurman is the author of the chapbook Strange Flesh (Quarterly West, 2018). His poetry can be found in Nashville Review, Ninth Letter, The Journal, RHINO, and others. You can find him online at

53:44 – Victoria Chang (Poetry)

Victoria Chang’s most recent book, Barbie Chang, was published by Copper Canyon Press in 2017. The Boss was published by McSweeney’s. She was awarded a Guggenheim and Sustainable Arts Foundation Fellowship in 2017. She teaches at Antioch University in Los Angeles.

58:31 – Sumita Chakraborty (Poetry)

Sumita Chakraborty is poetry editor of AGNI, art editor of At Length, and weeks away from completing a doctorate in English at Emory. In 2017, the Poetry Foundation awarded her a Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Fellowship.

1:26:52  Jess deCourcy Hinds (Fiction)

Jess deCourcy Hinds was the 2014-15 winner of the Pen Parentis Fellowship, and second prize in the 2016 Stella Kupferberg Story Prize judged by Lauren Groff. Writing credits include: Ms., Brain Child and Quarterly West.

1:37:52 – Michael Bazzett (Poetry)

Michael Bazzett is a 2017 NEA Fellow and the author of three books of poems: You Must Remember This (Milkweed Editions, 2014), Our Lands Are Not So Different (Horsethief Books, 2017) and The Interrogation (Milkweed Editions, 2017).

1:43:58 – Hieu Minh Nguyen (Poetry)

Hieu Minh Nguyen is the author of two poetry collections, This Way to the Sugar (Write Bloody Publishing, 2014) and Not Here (Coffee House Press, 2018). He lives in Minneapolis.

1:50:38 – Hadara Bar-Nadav (Poetry)

Hadara Bar-Nadav is the author of several books of poetry, most recently The New Nudity and Lullaby (with Exit Sign). An NEA fellow, she teaches in the MFA program at the University of Missouri-Kansas City.

1:57:04 – Michael Wasson (Poetry)

Michael Wasson, a 2018 NACF National Artist Fellow in Literature and recipient of the Adrienne Rich Award, is the author of This American Ghost (YesYes Books, 2017). He is from the Nez Perce Reservation in Idaho.

2:05:15 – Raena Shirali (Poetry)

Raena Shirali is the author of GILT (YesYes Books, 2017). Shirali’s honors include a Pushcart Prize and the Philip Roth Residency at Bucknell University. She currently lives in Philly, and reads for Muzzle Magazine and Vinyl.

2:10:24 – Stephen Kampa (Poetry)

Stephen Kampa is the author of three books, Cracks in the Invisible, Bachelor Pad, and Articulate as Rain. He currently teaches at Flagler College.

2:15:36 – Sarah Rose Nordgren (Poetry)

Sarah Rose Nordgren’s two books of poetry are Best Bones (2014), winner of the Agnes Lynch Starrett Poetry Prize, and Darwin’s Mother, which is recently released from University of Pittsburgh Press (November 2017). Her poems and essays appear widely in periodicals such as Agni, Ploughshares, the Kenyon Review Online, Copper Nickel, and American Poetry Review.

2:38:14 – John Jodzio (Fiction)

John Jodzio‘s work has been featured in This American LifeMcSweeney’s, and One Story. He’s the author of the short story collections, KnockoutGet In If You Want To Live, and If You Lived Here You’d Already Be Home and the newly released chapbook, This Is The Only Orientation You’re Gonna Get.

2:45:49 – Kathleen Winter (Poetry)

Kathleen Winter‘s new collection I will not kick my friends won the 2017 Elixir Poetry Prize. Poems are forthcoming from New Statesman, Prelude, Puerto del Sol and Western Humanities Review. She lives in Sonoma, California.

2:51:18 – Maggie Smith (Poetry)

Maggie Smith’s most recent books are The Well Speaks of Its Own Poison, winner of the Dorset Prize, and Good Bones, the title poem from which has been translated into nearly a dozen languages.

2:55:44 – Kai Carlson-Wee (Poetry)

Kai Carlson-Wee is the author of Rail (BOA Editions, 2018). A former Wallace Stegner Fellow, he lives in San Francisco and teaches poetry at Stanford University.

3:03:52 – Megan Fernandes (Poetry)

Megan Fernandes is an Assistant Professor of English at Lafayette College. Her work has been published or forthcoming in Tin House, Ploughshares, The Common, Guernica, PANK, The Adroit Journal, among others. She lives in NYC.

3:10:24 – Analicia Sotelo (Poetry)

Analicia Sotelo is the author of Virgin, the inaugural winner of the Jake Adam York Prize, selected by Ross Gay, to be published by Milkweed Editions in February 2018. She is also the author of the chapbook Nonstop Godhead, selected by Rigoberto González for the 2016 Poetry Society of America Chapbook 30 and Under Fellowship.

Well, there you have it! I hope you’ll join us next year in Portland! Sign up below for updates. 

Peter LaBerge

Peter LaBerge founded The Adroit Journal in 2010, as a high school sophomore. His work appears in Crazyhorse, Harvard Review, Indiana Review, Iowa Review, Kenyon Review Online, Pleiades, and Tin House, among others. He is the recipient of a 2020 Pushcart Prize.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply